Introduction to ISO 20000-1 IT Service Management System Standard

ISO 20000 is the first ISO Standard for IT Service Management (ITSM). It was developed in 2005 by ISO and then revised in year 2011 and was given the version as ISO 20000-1:2011. ISO 20000-1 is compatible with other standards and frameworks like IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) Framework. ISO 20000-1 provides value to both the Service Provider and the Consumer of those Services.

ISO/IEC 20000 Standard is available in two parts – ISO/IEC 20000-1 and ISO/IEC 20000-2. Each part caters to a specific requirement. ISO 20000-1 is meant for Certification and is known as “Specification for Service Management System” whereas ISO 20000-2 i.e. the second part is referred to as “Code of practice for Service Management System” and describes about the best practices, and the requirements of Part 1 which needs to be implemented.

Basically Part 1 of the standard i.e. ISO 20000-1 is used to Plan, Establish, Implementation, Operational, Monitoring, Reviewing, Maintaining and Continual Improving of an intended Services Management System in the organization. And second part i.e. Part 2 provides guidance on best practices for Implementation of Part 1.


The 2011 version (ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011) is divided into key service management processes, as defined below:

  1. Control
    • Configuration Management
    • Change Management
    • Release and Deployment Management
  2. Relationship
    • Business Relationship Management
    • Supplier Management
  3. Resolution
    • Incident and Service Request Management
    • Problem Management
  4. Service Delivery
    • Budget & Accounting for Services
    • Capacity Management
    • Information Security Management
    • Service Continuity & Availability Management
    • Service Level Management
    • Service Reporting